No. 50013/2/2022-NIPER (E-20049) Government of India Ministry of Chemicals & Fertilizers Department of Pharmaceuticals

Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi Dated, the 26th September, 2022

ORDER

Subject: Constitution of Council of NIPERs - Regarding

Section 30(A) of the National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research (Amendment) Act, 2021, notified on 20th December, 2021 prescribes setting up of a NIPER Council which shall be responsible to coordinate the activities of all NIPERs and to take steps to ensure planned and coordinated development of pharmaceutical education & research and maintenance of standards thereof. As per provisions of the Act, the Council shall perform the following functions:

- (a) to advise on matters relating to the duration of the courses, the degrees and other academic distinctions to be conferred by the Institutes, admission standards and other academic matters;
- (b) to lay down policy regarding cadres, methods of recruitment and conditions of service of employees, institution of scholarships and free-ships, levying of fees and other matters of common interest;
- (c) to examine the development plans of each Institute and to approve such of them as are considered necessary and also to indicate broadly the financial implications of such approved plans;
- (d) to lay down policy or guidelines for promoting research and development in pharmaceuticals and related areas, fostering collaboration and overseeing developments and on matters incidental thereto;
- (e) to examine the annual budget estimates of each Institute and to recommend to the Central Government the allocation of funds for that purpose;
- (f) to advise the Visitor, if so required, in respect of any function to be performed by him under this Act; and
- (g) to perform such other functions as are assigned to it by or under this Act.

2. The provisions of the Amendment Act have come in to force with effect from 25th May, 2022. Subsequent thereto, as per powers conferred under section 30(E) of the Act, the Central Government has notified Council (NIPER) Rules on 1st June 2022.

Generated from eOffice by Hariom Tiwari, Hariom Tiwari (Y.P.), YOUNG PROFESSIONAL, Department of Pharmaceuticals on 05/04/2025 05:49 pm

3. Pursuant thereto, the Council is hereby constituted as per composition prescribed as per section 30(A)(2) of the Amendment Act, with nominations of the expert members (as at Sl. No. 26-29) having made with the approval of the Visitor (Hon'ble President of India), as under:

1.	Minister for Chemicals & Fertilizers	Chairperson, ex officio
2.	Minister for State for Chemicals & Fertilizers	Vice Chairperson, ex officio
3-5	Three Members of Parliament	Members - (Two to be elected by the House of the People; and One by the Council of States)
6.	Secretary, Department of Pharmaceuticals	Member, ex officio
7.	Secretary, Department of Biotechnology	Member, ex officio
8.	Secretary, Department of Health Research	Member, ex officio
9.	Secretary, Department of Higher Education	Member, ex officio
10.	Secretary, Department of Science & Technology	Member, ex officio
11.	Director General, CSIR	Member, ex officio
12-18	Chairperson of BoGs of all NIPERs	Members, ex officio
19-25	Director of all NIPERs	Member, ex officio
26.	Chairperson, AICTE	Member, ex officio
27.	Dr V Ramgopal Rao, Former Director, IIT Delhi	Expert - Education
28.	Mr Pankaj Patel, Chairman, Cadila Healthcare	Expert – Pharma Industry
29.	Mr V. P. Alva, MD, Skanray Technologies	Expert - Med. Devices Industry
30.	Ms Mahima Datla – MD, Biological E	Expert - Pharma Research
31.	President, Indian Drugs Manufacturing Association (IDMA)	Member, ex officio
32.	President, Organization of Pharmaceutical Producers of India (OPPI)	Member, ex officio
33.	President, Pharmacy Council of India (PCI)	Member, ex officio
34.	FA, Ministry of Chemicals & Fertilizers	Member, ex officio
35.	Joint Secretary, Department of Pharmaceuticals	Member-Secretary, ex officio

4. The term of office of members of the Council as at Sl. No. 3-5 and 27-30 shall be for a period of three years from the date of their election/ nomination. The term of office of ex-officio members shall continue so long as he/ she hold the office by virtue of which he/ she is a member of the Council.

5. This issues with approval of the competent authority and in supersession of previous OMs of even number dated 29th March, 2022 and 14th September, 2022.

Saturkund

(Satish Kumar) Under Secretary to the Government of India Tel. No: 011-23352298

То

- 1. PS to Hon'ble Minister (Chemicals & Fertilizers)
- 2. PS to Hon'ble Minister of State (Chemicals & Fertilizers)
- → 3. Lok Sabha Secretariat / Rajya Sabha Secretariat with request for nomination of MPs as at Sl. No. 3-5 of the Table at Para 1 of this Order.
 - 4. Secretary, Department of Pharmaceuticals
 - 5. Secretary, Department of Biotechnology
 - 6. Secretary, Department of Health Research
 - 7. Secretary, Department of Higher Education.
 - 8. Secretary, Department of Science & Technology
 - 9. Director General, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
 - 10. Chairperson, All India Council for Technical Education
 - 11. Chairpersons of Board of Governors of all NIPERs.
 - 12. Director of all NIPERs.
 - 13. President, Indian Drugs Manufacturing Association.
 - 14. President, Organization of Pharmaceutical Producers of India.
 - 15. President, Pharmacy Council of India.
 - 16. Dr V Ramgopal Rao, Former Director, IIT Delhi(email:rrao@iitd.ac.in)
 - 17. Mr Pankaj Patel, Chairman, Zydus Cadila Healthcare (Email: cmdoffice@zyduslife.com)
 - 18. Mr V P Alva, MD, Skanray Technolgies- Medical Devices Industry (email:v.alva@skanrav.com)
 - 19. Ms Mahima Datla MD, Biological E-Pharmaceutical Research (email: <u>mahipalreddy.saddi@biologicale.co.in</u>)
 - 20. Financial Advisor, Ministry of Chemicals & Fertilizers
 - 21. Joint Secretary (NIPER), Department of Pharmaceuticals.

Copy to:

1. OSD, President Secretariat with reference to ID No. CIII-15001/1/2022-CA-III dated 26.08.2022